Nov 132003

conceived by Marty Hapner & David LeVan, while they were on their way to compete in the 1990 Beserkeley Doubles. On their drive up the coast, they decided that it would be cool to host an event to commemorate the 1989 Loma Prieta Earthquake, which was centered in Santa Cruz Country. The first FaultLine occurred the following year [1991], and became the event to decide the California State Singles Champion as the Sonoma States, which had previously decided the State Champion, was no longer being held. The FaultLine became an immediate success. Marty Hapner was the original TD and served that role for many years, followed by Chris Jahr, and most recently Jim Kroutch. This years’ (13th Annual) 2003 FaultLine was granted Professional Disc Golf Assocation A-Tier status for the first time, and for the first time since Alan Friedman won it in 1994, a local player (Sonny Ashby) finished on top.